Tribal Government Sources: Nations by State

Last update: February 8, 2011

The listing of tribes in these pages have been compiled in order to allow for easier access to information on the culture and history of the Native American tribes of the United States.

Some of the links will have an icon next to them designating them as either Federally recognized () or State recognized (). The list of Federally recognized tribes comes from the 2010 issue of the Federal Register.

Appearance on this site does not mean an endorsement has been made for recognition of any particular tribe. The listing was created in order to aid academic research.

Return to Tribal Government Information

Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California
Colorado Connecticut Delaware Florida Georgia
Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa
Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland
Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri
Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey
New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio
Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina
South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont
Virginia Washington State West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming

Archive of the Federal Register's Federally Recognized Tribes Listings

2010 | 2010 Supplement
2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2005 | 2003 | 2002 | 2000
1998 | 1997 | 1996 | 1995